Available reviews

Publish with us - our 2018 IF is 9.220.

We are looking for strong author teams with a mixture of clinical, methodological and statistical expertise to take on new titles or take over the update of existing reviews. We also require that two authors in the team have published at least two Cochrane reviews. It is crucial that teams include the aforementioned levels of expertise. For example, if a given review involves cardiac surgery, at least one cardiac surgeon needs to be involved. If a review is about intervention cardiology, a cardiologist with that particular sub-specialty should take an active role as author. Involvement of patients (and their carers) with the condition assessed in the review is also desirable - in the protocol design, plain language summary and interpretation/implications of results. 

Please use the proposal forms for new titles, updates and overviews as applicable. The expectations as outlined in the editorial processes do apply. 

 

  • Cerebral Embolic Protection Devices During Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement - submissions being reviewed
  • Remote monitoring of Implantable Cardiac Defibrillators for prevention of cardiovascular outcomes - deadline extended to 31 December 2020
  • Alcohol consumption and cardiovascular disease** - deadline extended to 31 December 2020

**After reviewing the scope of this title, we invite proposals for three narrower topics as follows:

Interventions for alcohol cessation in people with heart failure
Interventions for alcohol cessation in people with atrial fibrillation
Interventions for alcohol cessation in people with ischemic heart disease

  • Colchicine for the primary prevention of cardiovascular events (supersedes our existing review that is split into two new reviews, one for primary prevention and one for secondary prevention)  deadline extended to 31 December 2020.

We will collate proposals for each of the above listed after the submission has closed and review them during the following month. If we have not found a suitable author team, we will continue to advertise.

The advertisement of a vacant title is not a guarantee for the title being accepted.


In July 2020 we accepted an author team for the following title:

  • Association of aspirin and Anticoagulants for primary prevention of cardiovascular disease (new title)

In June 2020 we accepted author teams for the following titles:

  • Prophylactic corticosteroids for cardiopulmonary bypass in adults (update)
  • Percutaneous vs surgical repair of mitral valve disease (new title)
  • Antithrombotic treatment following coronary artery bypass surgery (new title)
  • Continuous infusion versus bolus injection of loop diuretics in congestive heart failure (new title, supersedes exisiting review to incorporate latest methods)
  • Catheter ablation for atrial fibrillation - (new title, supersedes two exisiting reviews to broaden the scope)
  • De-escalation of dual antiplatelet therapy for patients with acute coronary syndrome after percutaneous coronary intervention (new title)

In May 2020 we accepted an author team for the following title: 

  • Treatment of hyperkalemia in heart failure (new title)

In April 2020 we accepted author teams for the following titles:

  • Pharmacological Interventions for the prevention and treatment of aortic root and heart valve disease (new title)
  • Automatic external defibrillators for preventing sudden cardiac death (new title) 
  • Modification of risk factors in patients with atrial fibrillation (new title)

In March 2020 we accepted author teams for the following titles:

  • Wearable cardioverter defibrillator for the prevention of sudden cardiac death
  • Dual antiplatelet therapy for treating acute coronary syndrome: a network meta-analysis (new title; was advertised as 'for myocardial infarction') 
  • Catheter ablation for ventricular tachycardia
  • Programming of implantable cardiac defibrillators for improving outcomes

In February 2020 we accepted author teams for the following titles:

  • Interventions for the treatment of acute ST-elevation myocardial infarction: an overview of Cochrane reviews (new overview)
  • Interrupted versus uninterrupted anticoagulation for cardiac rhythm management device insertion (new title)
  • Prophylactic use of inotropic agents before cardiac surgery (new title)

In January 2020 we accepted an author team to conduct the new overview:

  • Interventions for the treatment of heart failure: an overview of Cochrane reviews

In September 2019 we accepted an author team to conduct:

  • Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) for the prevention of cardiovascular diseases (new title)

In July 2019 we accepted an author team for this title which is therefore no longer available:

  • Drugs and pacemakers for vasovagal, carotid sinus and situational syncope (advertised as an update but registered as a new title)

In May 2019 we accepted author teams for the following titles which are therefore no longer available: 

In March 2019 we accepted author teams for the following titles which are therefore no longer available: 

In February 2019 we accepted an author team for the following title which is therefore no longer available: 

  • Transvenous versus sub-cutaneous implantable cardiac defibrillators for people at risk of sudden cardiac death (new title)

In October 2018 we accepted applications from author teams for the following titles which are therefore no longer availabe: